IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages < 1 2 

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

 Wookiee Model

InfiniteWarrior
post Mar 13 2004, 08:58 PM
Post #16


Emperor


Group: Members
Posts: 800
Joined: 21-June 03
Member No.: 20



Haven't worked with shaders, so not much help there. smile.gif

Which file specifies the path to/name of the shader? That's probably what you'll need to fix. Sounds like all the directories are in the right place.

As for camera angles, some use spwin which "spins" the camera around you, but it's kind of a long shot. I like cg_thirdpersoncam. Play around with it at different settings and turn your model to get the shot you want. cg_thirdpersoncam -.02 is a good start. Will give you a chance to get a feel for it anyway, 'cause it feels kind of weird at first. smile.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TheBeast
post Mar 14 2004, 11:30 AM
Post #17


Master


Group: -=RJ=-Clan
Posts: 444
Joined: 18-June 03
From: Quebec...woohoo !!!
Member No.: 12



Thx Infi for taking that up while I was away for the weekend smile.gif


Ham:

For the screenshot... start up JK2 (or JK3) in multiplayer mode and bring up the console without starting a server or joining one. In the console type

CODE
/devmap ffa_bespin


or

CODE
/devmap rj_sublime2


By doing this... it will load the specified map (bespin or sublime2 in this case) with cheats enabled... this will mean you will have access to console commands like 'cg_thirdpersonangle' and 'cg_thirdpersonrange'. The fisrt one (Angle) is followed by a number between 0 and 360... and it will setup the camera at this angle (default is 0 (behing the model))... The second command (Range) will setup the camera at a different distance from the model... I don't think you have a limit for the numbers following this command... but usually a good distance is '120' or '140'.

So an example of those would be

CODE

/cg_thirdpersonangle 180
/cg_thirdpersonrange 120


With this you'll be able to have a 'whole model' shot from the front... play around with those and you'll get great shot.

Now... for the shaders.

To make it work for Lowbacca... you'll have to edit it with notepad... cause a shader is something like a *.skin file that will tell the game to load up this image file and apply as texture to the model 'skin'. A shader goes a bit farther that that. It will tell the game that when a particular imagle file is called up as a texture, then the game should follow a series of steps... I have a ahard time understanding what I just written... so here is an example from my Auron model

CODE

models/players/ffx_auron/auron_hair
{
cull disable
   {
       map models/players/ffx_auron/auron_hair
       alphaFunc GE128
       depthWrite
       rgbGen lightingDiffuse
   }
}


The first line is what the game will be looking for (when this particular image file is laoded... then it will have to follow the steps I designed)

Each set of bracquets is a step that the game must do before applying the texture on the skin... in this case I only have one. In short... with these lines of codes... I'm asking the game to load the same image file... but to only display what has been saved in the 'Alpha Channel' (could be explained on demand smile.gif) and to make everything else invisible.

So... for your case... the shader doesn't change in itself... but you will have to change all the 'paths' and make them lead to your Lowbacca model... so it will tell the game that when the skin for lowbacca is loaded... to apply the designed steps. Basicly it means... you will have to open the chewie shader with notepad and change all the chewbacca to lowbacca.

So if you have other question... shoot... but be aware that if you released a beta version... we could be of a much greater help because we could 'experiment' first hand with the various problems.

- Beast


--------------------
"Separately, woman and alcohol can be quite fun... but when you mix them, they can make you a dumbass"

- Red, That's 70's Show :)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
*HAMSTAR*
post Mar 15 2004, 11:02 AM
Post #18


Master


Group: -=RJ=-Clan
Posts: 456
Joined: 20-August 03
From: Kashyyyk
Member No.: 49



I renamed it to what it needed to be but nothing happened he still has no shaders. but I e-mailed Major Clod (author of the model) a few days ago and I'm sure he will give me an answer. as soon as the shaders start working I will release a beta, and hopefully a final version by the end of april since I will be out of town the next few weeks.


--------------------
user posted image
<<~**/-/amstaR**~>>
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TheBeast
post Mar 15 2004, 11:28 AM
Post #19


Master


Group: -=RJ=-Clan
Posts: 444
Joined: 18-June 03
From: Quebec...woohoo !!!
Member No.: 12



Here you go Ham... this is what your shader should look like.

It should also be place in a folder named 'shader' in your pk3 (placed at the same level as 'models', 'sounds', 'scripts' and 'botfiles').

But a little question remain: Are all your images file in JPG format ???

Because for the shader to work, the texture called up by it should be in TGA format (a format that can 'save' an alpha channel).

Attached File(s)
Attached File  lowbacca.shader ( 2.61k ) Number of downloads: 7


--------------------
"Separately, woman and alcohol can be quite fun... but when you mix them, they can make you a dumbass"

- Red, That's 70's Show :)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
*HAMSTAR*
post Mar 15 2004, 05:29 PM
Post #20


Master


Group: -=RJ=-Clan
Posts: 456
Joined: 20-August 03
From: Kashyyyk
Member No.: 49



that didn't work either it was basically the same thing I had. But if I catch ya online or something I will be sure to send it to you if you woulkd like to figure out what I am doing wrong.


--------------------
user posted image
<<~**/-/amstaR**~>>
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
*HAMSTAR*
post Mar 17 2004, 05:37 PM
Post #21


Master


Group: -=RJ=-Clan
Posts: 456
Joined: 20-August 03
From: Kashyyyk
Member No.: 49



I made a newer version of the Lowbacca skin than the one you have beast I can't transfer it to any e-mails because it's a bit big. So would anyone like Jay or Rugg be able to get on AOL instant messenger or something where I can transfer it directly or maybe someone has another Idea on how I could post it so it can get on the server?

anyways thanks.


--------------------
user posted image
<<~**/-/amstaR**~>>
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TheBeast
post Mar 17 2004, 10:49 PM
Post #22


Master


Group: -=RJ=-Clan
Posts: 444
Joined: 18-June 03
From: Quebec...woohoo !!!
Member No.: 12



you can always do what I do.... get a free webhosting... upload your skin there... and create a very basic page... with only a link... that you could post here... where people could downlaod what you did.

- Beast


--------------------
"Separately, woman and alcohol can be quite fun... but when you mix them, they can make you a dumbass"

- Red, That's 70's Show :)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
*HAMSTAR*
post Mar 17 2004, 11:08 PM
Post #23


Master


Group: -=RJ=-Clan
Posts: 456
Joined: 20-August 03
From: Kashyyyk
Member No.: 49



I submitted it to www.jk2files.com just now but I will look into that too. can't wait for everyone to finally see it! laugh.gif


--------------------
user posted image
<<~**/-/amstaR**~>>
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
*HAMSTAR*
post Mar 26 2004, 02:30 PM
Post #24


Master


Group: -=RJ=-Clan
Posts: 456
Joined: 20-August 03
From: Kashyyyk
Member No.: 49



ok still waiting for it on jk2files.com but lucas files already has it up just goto the link and check it out.
but remember it's just my beta I will release another version or two.

http://www.lucasfiles.com/index.php?s=&act...ion=file&id=494


--------------------
user posted image
<<~**/-/amstaR**~>>
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
*HAMSTAR*
post Mar 30 2004, 04:49 PM
Post #25


Master


Group: -=RJ=-Clan
Posts: 456
Joined: 20-August 03
From: Kashyyyk
Member No.: 49



it is finally on jk2files.com but I thought the review was the least bit short even for a skin. anyways I am glad it's up here is the link
http://www.jk2files.com/file.info?ID=24625


--------------------
user posted image
<<~**/-/amstaR**~>>
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ruggiero
post Mar 30 2004, 05:24 PM
Post #26


Lord


Group: Admin
Posts: 1,177
Joined: 13-June 03
Member No.: 2



Congrats hamstar!

R


--------------------
Oobawanga wata chopay polah.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
*HAMSTAR*
post Apr 11 2004, 07:55 PM
Post #27


Master


Group: -=RJ=-Clan
Posts: 456
Joined: 20-August 03
From: Kashyyyk
Member No.: 49



hey while your changin all this server stuff would it be to much to ask to add my skin? mellow.gif confused.gif


--------------------
user posted image
<<~**/-/amstaR**~>>
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ruggiero
post Apr 16 2004, 08:09 AM
Post #28


Lord


Group: Admin
Posts: 1,177
Joined: 13-June 03
Member No.: 2



Its on.

Love me.

Rugg


--------------------
Oobawanga wata chopay polah.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

2 Pages < 1 2
Topic Options
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:
 

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 07:42 AM